Message from the MD & DC AFL-CIO on election results

Maryland State and District of Columbia AFL-CIO



Fred D. Mason, Jr.                                             Donna S. Edwards
          President                                                              Secretary-Treasurer       

A message from President Mason………….


Thank you for all of your hard work as you participated in our democratic processes.  Our efforts to secure victory for our endorsed candidates from Maryland and the District of Columbia were successful.

Chris Van Hollen won overwhelmingly to be our next United States Senator representing the State of Maryland.  Congratulations go out to Chris and we expect that he will continue his great leadership.

Congress members, Steny Hoyer, Elijah Cummings, Dutch Ruppersburger, John Sarbanes and Eleanor Holmes-Norton were all re-elected and we congratulate them on their victories.  It is great to have such a seasoned and trusted team.

We are proud to have played a significant role in sending two new members to the United States House of Representatives:  Anthony Brown and Jamie Raskin.  Their time spent in the governance of Maryland prepared them to be worthy of the responsibility to represent our interests on the national stage.

While our endorsed candidate for president, Hillary Clinton, didn’t win nationally, we take great pride and give thanks to all for helping to make her a winner in our jurisdiction.

We congratulate president elect Trump and wish him success in being a president for all.

Thank you for your participation in helping to secure our democracy.  The struggle continues!


Fred D. Mason, Jr.
President, MD/DC AFL-CIO

7 School Street
Annapolis, MD 21401